Serradura (Macanese Sawdust Pudding)

“Serradura” means “sawdust” in Portuguese. Sawdust pudding may sound a bit unappetizing, but the sawdust actually refers to the biscuit crumbs. The biscuits were crushed super fine, which look like sawdust. No matter how weird it may look, I am sure that you will get addicted to this dessert after you have tried it. I tried this many years ago in Macau in a Portuguese restaurant. It was in a cake slice form. It was creamy and cold, like a hard ice-cream. The sweetness was perfect. It was unforgettable. I have to go and get a slice when I go to Macau every time. Macau maybe too far to go now, but this recipe has just saved my craving!

Serradura (Macanese Sawdust Pudding) (Adapted from my buttery fingers)

6 cups

Ingredients:

–   2 cups heavy whipping cream

–   30 Marie biscuits

–   2/3 – ½ cup sweetened condensed milk

–   ½ teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions:

  1. Choose your desire containers (e.g. glass dish, glass cups, glass bowl) that are enough to hold about 6-cup of pudding.
  2. Crush the biscuits very fine with a food processor.
  3. In a large mixing bowl with an electric mixer, beat the cream until soft peak form. Add vanilla extract and half the sweetened condensed milk. Whip everything together and taste to try. If it is not sweet enough, add more sweetened condensed milk. Beat until stiff peak form.
  4. Place a layer of whipped cream at the bottom of a container. Smooth out the cream. Sprinkle some biscuit crumbs over evenly. Repeat with another layer of whipped cream, and then another layer of crumbs. Continue the layers to a desired level. Finish with crumbs over the top of the pudding. Repeat with other containers.
  5. Cover the containers with plastic wrap. Chill in the freezer for at least 4 hours. Leave the pudding at room temperature for 20 minutes to soften before serving.

Tips:

  1. If you do not have a food processor, put the biscuits in a Ziploc bag. Close the bag tightly. With a rolling-pin, crush the biscuits until very fine.
  2. Make sure the biscuits are being crushed very fine, like sawdust. Fine crumbs would give the pudding better texture.
  3. I like my crumbs layer at least ¼-inch thick, so I can see and taste the layers better.
Source: Read

14 thoughts on “Serradura (Macanese Sawdust Pudding)

  1. Hey, you can try adding real vanilla seeds or vanilla paste, will taste much much nicer! later post the photo of vanilla paste fir u on my Facebook. It’s a convenient yummy partner for making dessert!!

    • Vanilla paste? This is the first time I have heard about it. I just google it, and it looks like the paste is a thicker syrup with vanilla seed. Right? I would love to use real vanilla seed, but it is pretty expensive. I haven’t bought one yet so far. But, I am definitely willing to try the paste!

  2. The secret really is serving it at the right temp. If it’s too cold it’s hard, and if gets too warm, it starts to slip and slide around the bowl… But it’s o-so-very good!

  3. do you cook the pudding as directed on the box and after mix it with the rest of the ingrediants and what size box of pudding thank u very much

    • It is a sweet vanilla flavor cookie. It is round and thin. You can say it is like a oreo but in cream color and no filling. It is originally from England. But you should be able to find them in British or Italian food store near you. If not, you can probably get them online, like amazon. Hope this help. Have a wonderful weekend!

    • You are welcome Andrea! This is a truly simple and delicious dessert. I had to get some when I visit Macau every time. Enjoy and have fun. Please let me know how it turns out.

  4. I’m making Serradura for the Holidays and I wanted to make it beforehand. Can I freeze for 3 days until its ready to serve?

    • Yes, 3 days would be fine. Just remember to leave it at room temperature 20 minutes before serving. Enjoy and have a happy holidays! Thanks for stopping by, Christina. 🙂

Leave a comment