Homemade Pomegranate Syrup

Pomegranate Syrup

Pomegranate is not a typical fruit that I would get or eat. I like the taste of a pomegranate, but I don’t like to eat the seeds. I just can’t get through the texture. So how would I ever think of using a pomegranate? Thanks to my CSA (Community Supported Agriculture) box that I get every 3 weeks. I got a pomegranate this time. I am happy to explore what I can do with it.

Let’s talk about CSA. It is a way to buy local seasonal vegetables and support local farmers. How does a CSA work? First, pick and join a subscription. Then, the farmers would pick and choose a variety of fruits and vegetables for you and put in a box. The box would either be delivered to your door or you have to pick it up in local area. There are many different CSA farms out there. Some even do bread and honey. The thing I like about this the most is the surprises. I would never know what I get each time. The morning for my CSA delivery is like Christmas for me. I am so excited to check out what is in the box. Of course, I also get to try some new fruits and vegetables that I have never heard or tried before. It definitely inspires my cooking. If you cook a lot, I think you really should check out the CSA farms in your area.

So yes, pomegranate! After doing some research, I have decided to make syrup with the pomegranate. That way, I don’t have to eat the seeds. Win-win decision! The pomegranate syrup is intense, little tart and little sweet. I used mine to make a cocktail, which I will post the recipe next week. But you can use the syrup in desserts, like cheesecake, cake, panna cotta or ice cream. If not, drizzle them on pancakes would be just as good. Also, don’t forget the meat. Pomegranate glazed pork chops sounds like a great idea too. I am sure you will find a way to use this yummy syrup.

Pomegranate Syrup 2

Pomegranate Syrup (Adapted from Alton Brown vs Foodnetwork.com)

1/3 cup

Ingredients:

–   1 cup pomegranate juice (about 2 pomegranates)

–   2 tablespoons sugar

–   1 teaspoon fresh lemon juice

Directions:

  1. Cut the pomegranates in half. Submerge a half in a large bowl filled with tap water. Carefully remove the seeds underwater. Separate the white membranes from the seeds. Discard the skins and membranes. Repeat with the rest of the pomegranates.
  2. Dry the seeds with paper towels. Place the seeds in a blender. Pulse the blender a few times to break the seeds. Place a mesh strainer over a bowl. Place a paper towel or cheesecloth on top of the strainer. Pour the pomegranate juice into the paper towel or cheesecloth. Squeeze and extract all the juice out from the seeds.
  3. In a small saucepan over medium heat, add 1-cup pomegranate juice, sugar and lemon juice. Cook until the sugar has dissolved, stirring occasionally. When the sugar has dissolved, reduce heat to medium-low and cook until the syrup has reduced to 1/3 cup, about 45 minutes, stirring occasionally. The syrup should be dark and slightly thick. It would get thicker when cool. Remove from heat and let it cool for 30 minutes. Transfer to an airtight container. Let it cool completely before placing in the fridge.

Tips:

  1. For storage, the syrup can be kept in the fridge for up to 6 months.
  2. If you don’t want to spend time juicing a pomegranate, just use store-bought pomegranate juice. It works too.

Want to learn more about CSA and find your CSA farms? Read

Source: Read

10 thoughts on “Homemade Pomegranate Syrup

  1. I have been looking for CSAs in Malaysia but sadly my research has come up with nil. So glad you guys get to enjoy fresh and local produce! I love fruity syrups. I can imagine using this as a glaze for roasts… or for ice cream. 😉

    • Oh really? Hopefully CSA will get more popular and you maybe able to do it some day. Anyhow, I look forward to trying this pomegranate syrup on roasted pork or beef. But since I have used up all the syrup for my cocktail drinks. I will need to make more first. 😛

  2. Wow, I love how thick and colorful this pomegranate syrup is. I would definitely drizzle that on some ice cream, pancakes or waffles! Sounds delicious, thanks so much for sharing this recipe 🙂

  3. Pingback: Pomegranate Gin Cocktail | The Missing Lokness

    • Thanks, Garner! I actually tried that method first, but couldn’t get many seeds out. Maybe I didn’t hit the pomegranate hard enough. I will try that again next time. Haha… Yes, I would love buy some pomegranates too! Hope you like the syrup!

  4. Pingback: recipe reciprocity | Fortune Goodies

Leave a comment