Apple Pie Cupcakes

666B7362-b

Before I get into the cupcakes, I have an announcement to make. Last week, I took my oath in the Naturalization Oath Ceremony. I am a United States citizen finally! Woo hoo!!! (Doing the happy dance!)

666B6934

After being in the US for 11 years, I am finally a citizen. It really has been a long journey. I have to say that I never thought I would be a US citizen. When I first got to the US, I just thought to complete school and go back to Hong Kong. But then I met Bryan, we fall in love and we got married. And here I am. I am so honor and proud to be a US citizen. Now, I can really call the US home. 🙂

When I was in the process of getting my citizenship, I wanted to make some food and write a post in here to celebrate my love of this country. What food is a good representation of America? It definitely has to be apple pie. But I think apple pie is too classic. Therefore, I present you these apple pie cupcakes! They are light and sweet with some slighty-tart apple bites. Great for any occasions. Hope you will enjoy them!

666B7396-b

Apple Pie Cupcakes (Adapted from Annie’s Eats)

12 cupcakes

Ingredients:

–   1½ cup sifted cake flour

–   1½ teaspoon baking powder

–   ¼ teaspoon salt

–   ½ cup unsalted butter (at room temperature)

–   ¾ cup sugar

–   2 large eggs

–   ¾ teaspoon vanilla extract

–   ½ cup whole milk

Apple Filling:

–   1 tablespoon unsalted butter

–   ¾ teaspoon ground cinnamon

–   2 tablespoons sugar

–   2 Granny Smith apples (peeled, cored and diced into ¼-inch cubes)

Vanilla Buttercream:

–   ¾ cup plus 1 tablespoon unsalted butter (at room temperature)

–   ¾ cup powdered sugar (sifted)

–   2 teaspoons vanilla extract

–   pinch of salt

–   1 – 2 tablespoons heavy cream

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350˚F. Line a cupcake pan with 12 paper liners.
  2. In a medium bowl, sift the cake flour, baking powder and salt together. Set aside.
  3. In a large mixing bowl with an electric mixer fitted with a paddle attachment, beat the butter and sugar until light and fluffy, about 2 minutes. Add the eggs one at a time and beat until blended after each addition. Add the vanilla extract and mix well. With the mixer on low-speed, add the flour mixture and milk to the butter mixture alternately in 3 additions, by starting and finishing with the flour mixture. Mix until just combined. Do not overmix.
  4. Divide the batter evenly among the cupcake liners about 2/3 filled. Bake in oven for about 18 – 22 minutes. Test the cupcakes with a toothpick for doneness. The toothpick should come out clean. Remove from oven and cool in the pan for 5 minutes. Transfer the cupcakes to a cooling rack and cool completely.
  5. For the apple filling, in a medium pan over medium-high heat, melt the butter. Stir in the cinnamon and sugar and cook until the mixture starts to bubble, about 1 minute. Reduce the heat to medium and add the diced apples. Mix well and cook until the apples are almost tender, about 5 – 8 minutes. Remove from heat and let cool.
  6. Meanwhile, for the cupcakes, insert a paring knife into the top of a cupcake to cut out a chunk from the center, leaving ½-inch rim around the top of the cupcake. If the hole is too small, cut out a bit more cake. Repeat with the rest of the cupcakes. Discard the chunks of cake (or eat them!). Fill the holes with the apple filling.
  7. For the buttercream, in a large mixing bowl with an electric mixer fitted with a whisk attachment, add the butter and whip on medium-high speed until smooth, about 1 minute. With the mixer on the lowest speed, add the powdered sugar and stir until just incorporated. Turn the mixer speed to medium. Add the vanilla extract, salt and 1 tablespoon heavy cream. Beat for 4 minutes until light and fluffy, scraping down the side of the bowl as needed. Check the buttercream consistency. If it is too stiff, add 1 tablespoon heavy cream and beat again. If it is too runny, add some more powdered sugar and beat again.
  8. Frost and decorate the cupcakes.

Tips:

  1. These cupcakes are best at room temperature. But you should only leave them out on the counter in an airtight container for a day. Then, it is better to keep in the fridge. Let them get back to room temperature before eating.

apple-pie-cupcakes

666B7334-b

Source: Read & Read

23 thoughts on “Apple Pie Cupcakes

  1. Congratulations!!! I love your picture! I can tell you are so happy! & I’m happy for you!!!

  2. Congratulations! Love the picture of you, and you look great in your dress 🙂 The cupcakes look really nice too, the filling inside looks really delicious and the liners are so cute!

    • Thanks a lot, Yii-Huei. These cupcakes are light and go well with the slightly tart apple fillings. You should try them! The cupcake liners took me a while to find. They came in a package with some toothpick flags, but I didn’t use them in here at the end. Very cute. Have a great weekend!

  3. Congrats on your US citizenship! That is so great, and what an appropriate treat to celebrate with! You know it’s great to travel and see different places but it also oftentimes reminds me of how good we have it here in this country.

  4. Oh…congratulations! 🙂 I didn’t know you were from HKG too! That’s my home country, although I’ve been here for a much longer time. hehehe….these Apple Pie Cupcakes are perfect for the occasion and celebration. Thank you so much for sharing the recipe and your happiness.

    • Haha… Yea. Thank you Amy. It feels so good to finally be an American. I am so happy that I can share parts of my life with all my blogger friends. 😀
      These cupcakes are great for any American holidays, especially July 4th. Hope you will give them a try some day!

  5. Congrats Lok man!!! I don’t know why there is a ceremony for those who become US citizen. How grand it looks like !! In HK, you just go to the Immigration Dept and get your ID card home. That’s all !!! Nothing more than an identity document. How humble we are?! Haha …

    • Thank you Andrew! 🙂 We needed to take an oath in the ceremony. There were about 4000 people in my ceremony. I think the reason for a big ceremony is to get everyone to do the oath at one time, especially there needs to be a judge to host the oath process. But I know that in some other areas, people just took the oath right in the immigration office. I think every office may do it differently.

  6. Oh congratulations on becoming a US Citizen, that is fantastic! First time visiting your blog and think your photos and recipes are great! These apple pie cupcakes look so cute and love the filling and cupcake liners. They are a perfect way to celebrate this wonderful occasion for you 🙂

    • Thank you very much for your sweet comment, Kelly. These cupcakes are truly great representation of America. They would be perfect for 4th of July too! Hope you will come back soon! Have a wonderful weekend!

  7. Congratulations! I’m still on Green Card as Japan doesn’t allow dual citizenship… maybe one day after I don’t need to go see my parents and family anymore. 🙂 I love your cute cupcakes and what a wonderful flavor to celebrate this occasion!

    • Thank you very much Nami. Ohh… I didn’t know that. But there is nothing wrong with green card. The most important thing is that you can go and visit your family in Japan easier.

Leave a comment